In light of GCE results…

Hello, I’m Jared Green and this is my blog. I am an 18 year-old student from England with a strong interest in living organisms.

Experience:

I began aquatics with your average community aquarium. I noticed many of my fish attempting to reproduce in my aquarium, so I then moved onto breeding live-bearing species. This led onto breeding more unusual fish such as Angelfish (Pterophyllum scalare) and Betta simplex. I always felt the risk of predation was a huge negative to breeding fish, and searched for more parental species. This eventually introduced me to shrimp, which generally do not prey on their offspring due to their feeding habits. I now have experience with the following shrimp species:

    • Caridina multidentata, formerly C. japonica (Amano)
    • Neocaridina heteropoda (Cherry; Sakura)
    • Caridina gracilirostris (Red Nose)
    • Caridina cantonensis (Crystal Red, Red Bee; Crystal Black, Black Bee; Gold Bee, Snow White)
    • Caridina thambipillaiformerly C. propinqua (Mandarin/Orange)
    • Caridina serrata (Blue Tiger)
    • Caridina hodgarti (Green Rocket)
    • Caridina cf spinata (Yellow Cheek; Yellow Stripe, Fire)
    • Caridina dennerli (Cardinal)
    • Caridina glaubrechti (Red Orchid)
    • Caridina striata (Red Line)
    • Caridina woltereckae (Harlequin)
    • Caridina serratirostris (Ninja)
    • Paracaridina sp. (Blue Bee)
    • Caridina caerulea (Blue Morphe)

I soon found that, in general, shrimp were far more delicate than fish. As I advanced to more delicate species I began to have less success. I decided the typical conditioned-tap-water technique must have limited application in this hobby, and so I sought to have more control over the water chemistry in my aquaria.

This blog will follow my success with the more delicate and exotic species of shrimp using more refined techniques to perfect water chemistry.

Academia

I have GCEs in Mathematics, Chemistry and Biology; and studied Psychology at Advanced Subsidiary Level. I have GCSEs in English, Mathematics, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geography, Food Technology, Fine Art, French and Religious Education.

In October 2011 I will begin studying Biological Sciences at Oxford University.

Aspirations

My main aspiration is to help to conserve and conduct research into the species of the genera Caridina and Neocaridina (and similar) that inhabit the ancient lakes of Sulawesi. In October 2011 I will go to either Oxford University University to study Biological Sciences. This will hopefully be the first stepping stone to achieving my goal.

4 Responses to In light of GCE results…

  1. Imke says:

    Hi Jared,

    congrats once again for finishing College and Oxford acceptance! I am crossing my fingers that your plans all work out, and you’ll find some mentors helping you within the research in Sulawesi species. For sure, you have support from the shrimp keepers community here 🙂 Good luck and keep us updated!

    Imke

  2. hi Jared
    i will continue reading your articles, especially about neocaridina related post

    thank you

Leave a Reply

